Adjust Font Size :

Two Weeks Late, Three Mexican States Left On FDA’s Suspect List

Over the weekend we came out with a Special Announcement entitled, FDA Expands List of Mexican States Not Associated With Salmonella Saintpaul Outbreak, and we announced that the FDA had expanded its list of places in Mexico that “HAVE NOT BEEN ASSOCIATED WITH THE OUTBREAK” to include the following Mexican states:

Aguascalientes, Baja California Norte, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Colima, Chiapas, Chihuahua, Distrito Federal, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, México, Michoacàn, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí, Sonora, Tobasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz, Yucatàn, Zacatecas

We also pointed out that this was a substantial increase over the previous very limited list which, in Mexico, only included the State of Baja California Norte.

To show graphically where tomatoes can be gotten in Mexico, we prepared this map:

As you see, only three states in Mexico remain suspect: Coahuila (top center); Sinaloa (Bottom left); and Jalisco (bottom right).

The interesting question is why did it take two weeks to make this list?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Latest from Jim Prevor's Perishable Pundit