Adjust Font Size :

Food Safety Leadership Awards

With all the work being done to enhance food safety in the industry, perhaps we can win some awards and show how much effort is going into these initiatives:

NSF International today announced the first call for nominations for its 2007 Food Safety Leadership Awards (FSLA) Program. As part of NSF’s ongoing public health and safety commitment, the annual awards program recognizes key individuals and organizations who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in foodservice safety.

Foodservice operators, manufacturers, researchers and members of academia may be nominated. The nominations are divided into six categories: technology breakthroughs, research advances, equipment design, product development, packaging innovation and systems improvements. Nominations for a special lifetime achievement award are also being accepted. Nominations will be accepted through Thursday, March 15, 2007.

The award winners will be announced at the National Restaurant Association Restaurant, Hotel-Motel Show, which will take place on May 19, 2007, Booth #3438 in Chicago, Illinois at McCormick Place Convention Center.

Nomination information is available at business/newsroom/fs_awards_nomination.asp or by calling 800-NSF-MARK ext. 5627.

NSF staff will review nominations for each award category, and forward this information to each selection committee member. An independent expert committee will then evaluate all nominations. Organizations represented on the committee have included:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

National Food Safety & Toxicology Center at Michigan State University

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

National Restaurant Association Education Foundation

Institute of Food Technologists Foodservice Division

International Association for Food Protection

NSF International Council of Public Health Consultants

Association of Food & Drug Officials

International Food Safety Council

“The food safety leadership awards program continues to be a tremendous success,” said NSF Vice President William Fisher. “This is our fourth consecutive year honoring outstanding achievements in the foodservice industry. This year’s winners will join a group of leading food safety professionals who share in NSF’s ultimate commitment — to protect the consuming public.”

In 2006, the winners included:

Dr. Ranzell “Nick” Nickelson II, Chief Executive for Science & Health for Standard Meat Company/Cargill/CTI Foods, Lifetime Achievement in Research Advancements

Dr. Peter Snyder, Jr., President, Hospitality Institute of Technology & Management, Lifetime Achievement in Food Safety Education

Hormel Foodservice, Food Safety Leadership Award in Technology Breakthroughs

Maple Leaf Foods, Inc., Food Safety Leadership Award in Research Advances

H&K International, Food Safety Leadership Award in Equipment Design

Sodexho, Inc., Food Safety Leadership Award in Systems Improvement

You can get more information on the awards program right here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Latest from Jim Prevor's Perishable Pundit